“It’s Not About The Money…”

2 Jun

Have you ever loaned someone money under uncertain terms and tried to convince yourself that you’d be okay if they didn’t pay you back? Or maybe you have poured your time money and energy into your small business and later on felt like it was a waste. You may have even taken a hot tip and invested your money in what turned out to be a get-rich-quick scheme. And to make yourself feel better, you tried to convince yourself that “it’s not about the money.”

 

I hear this statement everywhere and I bet you’ve heard it several times yourself. The funny part is that I’ve never heard anyone finish this statement. And left unfinished, this statement represents one of the biggest personal lies ever told. If it isn’t about the money, then why were you thinking about…the money. At the time, it wasn’t about the money until there was no money and then suddenly – it became about the money. So for everyone who has ever felt compelled to do anything nice for someone, only to feel that there was an uneven exchange, allow me to finish this statement.

  

“It’s not about the money…UNLESS THEY DON’T PAY ME!”

  

I’ve heard of Buyers Remorse – but come on…Sellers Remorse? I don’t know what gets into us. We listen to a sob story, our heart goes out to the party involved and without counting the costs (one of the greatest being opportunity costs), we decide to help them out. And in the end we feel as though we got the short end of the stick. And then, to no avail, we try to comfort ourselves by saying “it’s not about the money.” What a crock. It is about the money. And as I venture to stand out on a shaky limb, I would say it’s all about the money. Let me show you what I mean.

 

(Continue reading…)

5 Responses to ““It’s Not About The Money…””

  1. Kimberly Warne Thursday, 28 August 2008 at 4:25 PM #

    Thanks for the comment! I enjoyed your thoughts as well. Looking forward to reading more.

    Like

  2. anointedvessel Monday, 9 June 2008 at 8:46 AM #

    Allright get to posting!!!!!!!!

    Like

  3. anointedvessel Friday, 6 June 2008 at 12:42 PM #

    Let me know when you want me to link you to me, you are already appearing on my technorati page!

    Like

  4. anointedvessel Friday, 6 June 2008 at 12:41 PM #

    Yooo hoooo just stopping by checking on ya!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Money Money Money Money Monaaaaay! « Anointedvessel’s Weblog - Monday, 9 June 2008

    […] which I will link to mine but his first post I believe is a real looker and this is the link It’s Not About The Money!.  Yah ,  I know funny  title  for a post about money,  but you have to read it  to get the  […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

