Business Blooper #3 – Not Counting the Cost of “Free”

18 Jul

The other day, I received an advertisement in the mail to attend a free financial freedom seminar in Charlottesville, VA.  Reading through the brochure, I thought of the countless other free seminars that I’ve attended.  You know the ones where they give you so much information that it leaves your head spinning, and just when you can’t take it anymore they herd you to the back of the room.  Don’t get me wrong, I love information and don’t mind paying for it (hey – I went to a college that cost $40K a year), but I’ve reached a point where I can’t fit anymore information in my brain.  I still have the ability to learn, but until I start to teach what I’ve already learned, I won’t be able to fit anything else in.

I love attending free seminars and until know, the seminar companies loved to see me coming.  You see, this is what happens at most free seminars – they expand your reality and give you something real to put in it.  In other words, they stretch your capacity to think and sell you a product to match your new thoughts.  And depending on where you end up, the price tag can range from $100 to $10,000 (my range has been between $400 and $4500).  I’ve been to a lot of these seminars – Russ Whitney, National Grants Conference, Trump University and the list goes on an on.  They all have great information, but before going into these seminars, I failed to define my purpose for attending.  I went because I was interested. 

  

2 Responses to “Business Blooper #3 – Not Counting the Cost of “Free””

  1. anointedvessel Friday, 18 July 2008 at 6:14 PM #

    So why can’t you run for president and fix the economy? Uh what was I thinking that would make too much sense and the crooks with the deep pockets would lose money. Aw Shucks! You understand money and business in an almost supernatural way, I mean really. I was reading this and I felt the Holy Ghost! 😛

    Like

  2. Mike Harmon Friday, 18 July 2008 at 1:37 PM #

    Well said Great information, keep up the great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

