About to Panic? Now’s Really Not a Good Time

1 Oct

Before discussing the topic for today, I have to give my disclaimer.  As you have noticed, most of the Future in Focus blogs discuss business, entrepreneurial and personal development topics.  And very seldom will I bring my personal life into this.  But recently I received some news that I would like to share with you.

Last Thursday, I found out that I’m going to be a daddy…and I almost fainted.  Granted this wasn’t part of the ideal Anderson 2-year Plan, but neither is inflation, plunging markets and government takeovers.  When writing a business plan, these things are discussed in the SWOT/SLOT analysis and listed as threats.  But in marriage, it’s just called life.  And life is full of surprises.

My wife and I have shared the news with a couple of people who have panicked, asking us “what are you going to do?”  My knee-jerk reaction would be to place my tongue in my cheek and say, “to stay calm – would you like to join me?”  Just because something unexpected arises does not mean that it’s time to panic.  The future is filled with things that are not only unexpected but unprecedented.  The first time something happens that’s not according to plan is not time to give up.  Its just time to set new goals, refocus and keep moving forward. 

Going into panic mode never helps any situation.  In the past couple of days, I had moments where I literally stopped myself from panicking.  All types of thoughts fly through my head – “I don’t know how to be a parent”, “how much does formula cost?”, “if my son is a basketball player, what will he say when he finds out his dad cannot do a lay-up?”  After that last question, I decided it was time to think about the first thing I needed to do.

(continue reading…)

 

Click to Pre-register for your free Special Report - "7 Misconceptions that Almost Shattered My Vision (...and how I picked up the pieces)

 

Leave a Reply

