Resource of the Week: Top 5 Blunders Business Authors Make (& How to Avoid Them)

2 Oct

Your Resource of the Week is actually a 2-for-1.  I began writing about the title resource and had to include info about the guy who referred me.  Enough chit-chat, let’s get down to business…

In 2006, I set out to write a book.  My reason…uh…because…I wanted to write a book???  So I met with a local publishing company to see how much it would cost to self-publish this book that I dreamed of writing.  After meeting with Nina Wells of Kingdom Publishing, I roared off to start writing.  Before long, I realized that writing and promoting a book takes a lot more effort than I originally anticipated.

Tons of aspiring authors start with this goal in mind – to write a book about a subject they have a passion for.  This is what most aspiring authors fail to realize. If you write a book with yourself in mind, your book becomes a product of your dream.  If you write a book with your market and your mission in mind, then the book will promote your business.

Last week, I received an email from Tom Buford about a young lady named Donna Kozik, who is hosting an event for aspiring authors to write their books in a weekend.  At first, I was a little leery of this idea.  On second thought, I remembered that I was a bit leery of Tom’s philosophy called Charge What You Deserve.  But after implementing the information in his free reports, my business income did increase by about 40% within one month.  So I figured if I made that much money with Tom’s free report, it would be worth it to at least visit Donna’s website.

So, I went to Donna’s site, MyBigBusinessCard.com, to check out her philosophies.  She has a free report called The Top 5 Blunders Business Authors Make (& How to Avoid Them). 

What it took me 2 and a half years to learn, Donna Kozik sums up in this free report. 

(continue reading…)

3 Responses to “Resource of the Week: Top 5 Blunders Business Authors Make (& How to Avoid Them)”

  1. anointedvessel Tuesday, 4 November 2008 at 5:13 PM #

    haha well put T.A.

    Like

  2. Donna Kozik Thursday, 2 October 2008 at 1:59 PM #

    Thank you for bringing my special report to the attention of others.

    Yes, writing and publishing the wrong book can waste so much time and money (like I did) that I wanted to make it my personal mission to stop others before they made the same mistake.

    And then I wanted to show people how to “write the right” book and use it as their Big Business Card and that’s how “Write a Book in a Weekend” came about.

    In addition to my special report, I’ve started a group on Facebook — the “Write a Book in a Weekend Club.” Feel free to swing by and see what we’re all about. (I give a two minute summary in the video where I’m wearing the red top.)

    Hope to connect more…

    Donna

    http://writeabookinaweekendclub.com
    http://twitter.com/donnakozik

    Like

  3. Dan Waldron Thursday, 2 October 2008 at 11:16 AM #

    You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, Ive spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

