Experience Entrepreneurship 2009

2 Jan

New Year’s Resolutions.  That’s the first thing that comes to mind when the New Year is mentioned.  In fact, if people could pack an overnight bag of 10 things to take into the new year, New Year’s resolutions would be nestled in right beside the toothbrush.  But the truth is that most resolutions only last until the clean up crew has time to tidy up Times Square and put the ball away for next year. 

Experts say that it takes 21 days to solidify a new habit into your routine.  So, if you look around on January 22nd and you haven’t kicked that bad habit or started a good one, you probably won’t.  Sorry.  Actually, that’s not such a bad thing because here’s the good news.  You have 17 chances this year (365 days/21 days) to start something new…or even something old that you had forgotten about.

As I walked through Potomac Mills with my wife yesterday, I remembered some old things that I used to do – old things that worked.  One thing was to do something new every single day.  And most of these things didn’t cost any money.  I would call someone that I hadn’t talked to for months.  Or take a different route when going to work.  Occasionally, I would even pull out the Jaws-of Life, slowly peel my wallet open and buy something new.  In fact, that’s exactly what happened yesterday.

(Continue reading…)

5 Responses to “Experience Entrepreneurship 2009”

  1. Rachael S. Thursday, 29 January 2009 at 10:04 AM #

    Thank you for the helpful information. I bookmarked your site, and I hope you keep up the good work on making your blog a success!

    Like

  2. Mark Bachrach Friday, 9 January 2009 at 4:49 PM #

    “If the employees are not enthusiastic about being there or the product why should any potential customer get excited about it.”

    Tamara,

    This is a great thought. Although seemingly obvious, sometimes we have to be reminded of the truths that may be right in front of our nose.

    In my business, I tend to use high schoolers, who have notoriously short attention spans. To make things worse, often they work alone and are bored when the mall is slow. Therefore, it falls on me to make sure that they stay enthusiastic.

    Thanks for taking the time to comment. I look forward to any other thoughts you may have.

    Regards,
    Mark

    Like

  3. Tamara Mays Wednesday, 7 January 2009 at 1:48 PM #

    Thomas’ idea was really great but even for that to be sucessful. You will need people who can sell themselves and your product. If the employees are not enthusiastic about being there or the product why should any potential customer get excited about it.

    As Thomas explained, sometimes people need a little encouragement to try something new or different.

    I don’t know how many times I have left a store just because of the salesperson. Also try having people standing at the food court entrance directing people to your kiosk. Great energy goes well with great food!

    Like

  4. Mark Bachrach Saturday, 3 January 2009 at 11:59 AM #

    As the owner of the Showcolate outlet cited, I am very familiar with the effect of customers not interacting with the kiosk. However, “hilarious” isn’t one of the first words that come to mind when I think about it. Any suggestions as to how to increase the level of interaction would be welcome.

    Thanks for the post. Count me among your subscribers.

    Mark

    Like

    • Thomas E. Anderson II Tuesday, 6 January 2009 at 9:34 AM #

      Hi Mark. Thanks for your comment. I’m glad that you had a chance to subscribe to My Future in Focus.

      As I sat watching the shoppers pass by your Showcolate kiosk, I noticed that 80% of their interaction was internal – meaning they we’re interacting with the idea of trying something new. So before they ever decided to step up to the counter and place their order, they were asking themselves “should I try this?”. For instance, the gentleman I mentioned in the post was probably thinking, “I really want to try this but…I didn’t come to the mall for that…I really need to return my tuxedo…and my wife has me on a strict diet…” All this chatter came roaring up in his head.

      Now, I’m not familiar with the Showcolate’s policies for francisers, but in my experience a simple “try before you buy” strategy has worked for me. I’m a consultant, and I have implemented “try before you buy” in the form of case studies. And I think you would drive alot more traffic to your stand by appealing to that initial feeling that many shoppers have when they pass your stand. Their faces light up and most are thinking “I’d really like to try that but…”. This is the perfect opportunity to convert “try-ers” into buyers by offering them a taste test.

      This is what happens by offering them a taste test:
      1. You give them a chance to try it
      2. You give them time to overcome their “…but…” and the excuses that follow (no matter how long it takes)
      3. You appeal to the sea of shoppers who are undecided
      4. You convert undecided shoppers into customers

      As for me, I can’t wait to drop by Potomac Mills and experience Showcolate again. Chocolate covered fruit…I love it! Please keep me posted on your progress.

      Focusing on your future,
      Thomas

      Like

Leave a Reply

