6 Low-Cost Ways to Write Your Vision and Make It Plain

3 Jan

Last night I told my wife that I thank God for my dad affording me the opportunity to take time off after graduating from college and before entering the workforce. Why? Because I have written the vision for the rest of my life. It took me 6 years to write my vision. Yes, 6 years. I update it on a daily basis (…most times just making notes on my Blackberry, emailing them to myself and adding them to my existing documents) and even though I have written it, it’s still a work in progress.

Having a written vision is a lifesaver. I would be a crazy person trying to meet the demands of a full-time job, family and ministry with a million ideas swimming around in my head. But all I have to do is reach into my closet, pull out a binder and update my vision for programs like The Power of Please or My Future in Focus. It takes 2 minutes! When it comes to “crazy ideas”, I’m no stranger and would like to share a few popular vision-writing methods with you.  There are many of them, but these are six that I frequently use (…one for each year it took me to write my vision…). You just have to find the one(s) that work for you.

  1. 100 Goals.  I came across this technique in The Power of Focus and I thought it was the craziest idea I’d ever heard.  But I tried it and felt alot better once it was done.  I even went a step further and sub-divided my goals according to timing.  What I found was that small goals led to bigger goals.
  2. Vision Board/Binder.  This is a good idea if you need a visual reminder of what you want to do in life.  Or even what you want out of life.  Making a vision board helps you to walk-thru your vision.   If you can see it, then you can do it.
  3. Blogging. Clearly, I’ve tried blogging and it worked for me.  I suggest blogging for writers.  My Future in Focus started as a brainstorm – a clean slate to catch my crazy ideas.  And now that I’ve unleashed my core philosophies, I’m repurposing this as a business blog.
  4. Life Story.  Are you a good storyteller?  Then the Life Story method may just work for you.  I first encountered this method in Michael Gerber’s “E-Myth Revisited.”  This is how it works.  You imagine yourself at the end of your life (don’t get depressed though).  Then look back and tell your life story. It’s that simple.
  5. Recording and Writing.  This method is for talkers – those who have the gift of gab.  Talk your vision out in a brainstorm while recording it.  Then go back and listen to what you’ve recorded.  Extract the important parts – start writing.  You don’t have to do this alone.  Find someone you trust who can help you.  Tip: Digital recorders work best.
  6. Mind Mapping.  Does your mind ever feel like a tangled web of ideas?  Mine does.   Glamajama’s Heather Nolte wrote a great article on mind mapping.  I followed her advice and visited Wisemapping – a great website that you can use to unleash your ideas and have access to them anywhere in the world through the web.

For More information on writing your vision, register to receive your free copy of my special report…7 Misconceptions That Shattered My Vision (…and how I picked up the pieces).

2 Responses to “6 Low-Cost Ways to Write Your Vision and Make It Plain”

  1. Thomas E. Anderson II Monday, 20 April 2009 at 6:23 PM #

    Mush – I’ve never really tried the Life Story method myself. Not much of a storyteller. But I’ve heard it done quite masterfully! Glad I could help.

    Thomas

    Like

  2. Mush Monday, 20 April 2009 at 6:21 PM #

    I have used most of these methods to get better focus on my goals. But never heard the life story idea before. Very interesting indeed. Going to try. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

