How I Organized My Business Idea Using the B-I Triangle

24 Feb

By Thomas E. Anderson, II

I experienced a major paradigm shift in March 2006.  I was working on my second start-up and had millions of business ideas floating in my head.  And they were driving me absolutely crazy!  Opportunities had surrounded me and I could not decide which ones were for me. I was writing my vision on anything I could find – notepads, envelopes from creditors, post-it notes, you name it.  But I could not seem to connect the dots. Then I spotted an advertisement for Rich Dad’s Coaching.

And as my coach moved me through the program, I found that I needed to organize my entrepreneurial vision before it took over my life. Sometimes you have to show your business who’s boss. Other times you have to perform an accurate assessment of where you are and if you’re on track to achieving your business goals. And for me…this was one of those times.

B-I Triangle Binder

So I made what I call my B-I Triangle binder.  It helped to apply laser beam focus to my vision. Here is what I did:

1.  Bought a 1″ binder with a cover protector (to insert a cover page) and a pack of 8 dividers.

2.  Designed a cover page labeled “Business-Investor Triangle” with my business logo, slogan and trade dress on the front.

3.  Clearly labeled each separator using the parts of the B-I Triangle in the following order:

  • Mission
  • Team
  • Leadership
  • Cashflow
  • Communications
  • System
  • Legal
  • Product

4.  Placed my business ideas in each corresponding category (i.e. Sales and Marketing fall under Communications)

B-I Triangle Binder - insideWhenever I need to get my hands on an idea, I now know exactly where to find it. I know how each idea applies to my overall entrepreneurial vision.

There comes a time when you should organize your vision. I have gotten to the point where I update my ideas from my iPhone.

You can too. By choosing to take a step in the right direction. That is a decision that only you can make. If you are ready to take that step, you may want to check out my Goal Acclerator program and make your business a top priority in your life.  I encourage you to move forward with your business idea, no matter what stage you are in right now.

20110726-111938.jpgThomas E. Anderson, II is a credentialed life coach who enjoys motivating and equipping individuals to pursue their dreams.

If you enjoyed this article, you may also enjoy:

9 Responses to “How I Organized My Business Idea Using the B-I Triangle”

  1. Fortuna Monday, 8 April 2013 at 9:14 PM #

    Thank you very much for this idea, Thomas. Very useful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Welis Friday, 4 May 2012 at 3:47 AM #

    Rich dad has gave me focus i will info you when i get to the top.

    Like

  3. Gary Lloyd Tuesday, 27 September 2011 at 6:51 AM #

    I thought BI stood for Business Intelligence???

    Like

    • Gary Lloyd Tuesday, 27 September 2011 at 6:57 AM #

      PS We are using this same process in Evernote which let’s us add and categorize ideas / text / voice notes / video / web clippings / etc. from the desktop or mobile phone at any time. Very useful. (great phone apps)

      Like

  4. Joshua Friday, 24 June 2011 at 9:36 PM #

    Hello. This is a wonderful blog. I was looking for the B-I Triangle so that I could talk about it in a paper that I am writing for my International Business Class, and your website came up. Excellent website my friend. Keep up the wonderful work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thomas E. Anderson, II Saturday, 25 June 2011 at 12:14 PM #

      Hi Joshua. I am glad that you like the blog and that it helped you. I wish you much success in your business class.

      Best wishes,
      Thomas

      Like

  5. Dave (Rich Dad Cashflow Club Leader) Sunday, 27 February 2011 at 12:30 AM #

    Thanks for posting info about the Robert Kiyosaki! I am a huge fan, and also play the board game Cashflow, based on the principles of his book, Rich Dad Poor Dad. Our goal is to continually see opportunity, even in the midst of problems. Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. privacyillusion Sunday, 29 November 2009 at 4:21 AM #

    Thanks for this idea. I am at the organizing stage myself.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How I Organized My Business Idea Using the B-I Triangle « My … - ezineaerticles - Tuesday, 24 February 2009

    […] Thomas E. Anderson II var varsarray=[]; varsarray[0]=’10649′; if(!token) {var token=’0′} else {var […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

