7 Sure-Fire Ways To Stay Positive (…even when your numbers are not!)

17 Apr

Three competition judges“Oh my gosh! My page views are down by 60% compared to yesterday.”

“I had so many customers last year this time…what happened?!”

“My employees are wasting alot of time doing personal projects.  We’re paying them to work, not surf the net at our expense.”

I don’t care if its page views, inventory or money – when they take a dip, its tempting to freak out. You may not be able to control the peaks and valleys or how many clients say yes to your services. That’s ok. But when things are not naturally looking up, I’ve found that I have a choice. I can either look down or look up.  

Real estate investor and entrepreneur Robert Kiyosaki says “When things are bad, they can also be really good.”  And here are 7 ways to be positive even when there’s too much month at the end of your money.  

Many folks don’t realize that zero is the first positive number.

  1. Zero in on your successes. I shared the idea of this blog with my wife.  And she responded “many folks don’t realize that zero is the first positive number.” And for every negative number below zero, there is a positive number to match. But you’ll miss it if you’re focused on the negative. 
  2. Put a smile on your face. Two nights ago, I was in Wal-Mart and a stocker said this phrase in passing.  I didn’t know whether he was talking to me or not. And the statement initially rubbed me the wrong way (yes, my face was bent up and out of shape). But then it hit me… He wasn’t telling me to “smile”, like so may b4 him. But his statement let me know that I was in control of my attitude and my actions.  Disclaimer: This advice does not apply to sadists or serial killers. But everyone else is welcome to try.  Sometimes you have to put a smile on your face.
  3. Reward yourself. A few weeks ago, I gave a 15-min talk on the radio.  And yes, it was my first time.  I was a ‘radio virgin’.  So going on the radio, my friend and trusted advisor told me “you should go out to eat.”  I had considered treating myself and my wife to breakfast, but I curbed the urge in favor of saving money.  But by trusting my financial advisor (she knows how tight I am with money), I rewarded myself.  And at that time, it was the best thing that could have ever happened.
  4. “Celebrate good times…come on!!!”. I’m a pretty low-key guy, but even I look back and celebrate my wins with a smile.  (That’s it as far as my excitement goes…lol)  If you’re not winning now, look back and find a time that you’ve been on top and ask yourself “What was I doing differently”?  “How can I get back on top?”
  5. Check off goals you’ve already accomplished. I remember when I was learning how to better manage my time. Nothing frustrated me more than writing 10 things on my task list and only getting two things done. So using the Franklin Covey Planning System, I learned how to defer tasks and manage my projects.  By choosing my tasks more effectively, I could check more of them off at the end of the day.
  6. Revisit and reevaluate your time lines. Time is money. When you losing money or your website stats are dipping, check to see if you’re doing something out of sequence. Timing is everything.
  7. Tweak your plan, checking it for transparency. After finding out what’s working, go back and tweak your plan. And please don’t expect to do it in one day. It takes days, weeks, months to crunch hard and soft data, make sense of it and formulate a plan that reflects the heart of what you want to do. But you’ll feel great once your plan starts coming together in your head and on paper.

When you walk, chances are you look where you’re going. If you don’t, you have the scars and bruises to prove it.  And more than likely, the way you’re looking right now is the direction you’re headed in. So I have a question to ask you.  What are you focused on – positive or negative things?

Image courtesy of Fotolia

Leave a Reply

