Create A Plan That Reflects Your Dreams | Tuesday Tip Week 8

8 Sep

Today is the first real day after summer. It’s one of those days after a long weekend where, if you’re anything like me, you have trouble focusing. And especially today. It still feels hot outside. But you know the truth…summer is done. At least for this year. We have hurricane season and cold weather up ahead. The holiday season is a little too far off to be motivating. And so self-motivation is key. And what better way to inspire yourself than with your dreams. Your goals. The things you want out of life. Heck…the things you want in life.
No. This is not that pie in the sky stuff. I really want you to quickly throw a dream up on the horizon. Something you can commit to. But then I also want you to do something unique. I want you to:

Create a plan you can see your dreams through.

transparent house and man standingDid you know that small business is trending away from long business plans that are set in stone? It’s trending towards shorter, more actionable plans that respond to every changing market conditions. Away from concrete plans and more towards crystallized plans.

Let’s borrow from that logic.

A concrete plan will not capture the dynamics of your dreams. But a crystallized plan projects your dream onto the horizon and allows you to align your goals with your long-term aspirations like your personal values.

Let me repeat something here. No. This. Is. Not. Pie. In. The Sky. I know there are a lot of gurus out there who say “if you want to be successful then follow your passions…follow your dreams. That’s enough.” That is not what I’m saying.

I am simply saying to make sure your plan reflects what you want. Your goals and resolutions are a part of that plan. And if you already have a plan, check and see if it reflects your dreams. If so, to what level? If not, how can you revise your plan to align with what you really want in life?
The litmus test for your goals and resolutions is to ask yourself:

  • Do my plans line up with the 4Ds: my God-given destiny, dreams, desires and design?
  • Do they reflect my hopes and dreams?
  • Do they line up with my deepest and highest desires?
  • Do my plans align with my personal value system?

(Did you really expect me to write an email and not ask a few questions? I’m a coach. It’s what I do.)

And here are two key questions:

  • How many of these dreams, plans and goals line up with my reality?
  • How can I leverage my current reality to reach my goals?

personal-development-planThis is not something external to you. But it’s something that is unique within you. It is the unique convergence of your experiences, skills, knowledge, destiny and personality/character.

Here’s the long and short of it:

You have everything you need to achieve your goals.

There is no magic potion. No secret recipe. The missing ingredient is you.

I guarantee if you mix a little of your purpose, passion, destiny, unique knowledge, achievements, expertise in there, you will have a recipe to succeed in what you set your mind to.

One theme repeats when I talk to folks about their big goals. It usually sounds like this: “if I had _______________, then I could accomplish my goal.”

As comforting as this sounds, its simply a smoke screen.

Look within yourself. You’ll find everything you need.

This journey within is difficult to take alone. I am currently walking a client through this journey in The Goal Accelerator.

While you are revising your long-term plan or even pulling the pieces together, I can help you to make strides in:

  • Identifying your edge and what makes you unique
  • How to use this edge to carve out a place for yourself at work or in the marketplace
  • How to leverage your cutting edge to reach your business and personal goals.

I must tell you it’s a process, it takes a lot of work, and you will be processed as you engage in the experience. But I guarantee, your life will make tons more sense and you will have clear direction and next steps after you’ve completed the program.

I don’t expect you to commit right away. That’s why I offer a “taste test” in the form of introductory coaching starting at just $65.00 for a half-hour session. Email me at t_anderson@teaiiano.com to set up a free coaching preview.

Talk soon,

Thomas

Thomas E. Anderson, IIThomas E. Anderson, II is a vision development coach who enjoys motivating and equipping individuals to pursue personal, professional and organizational goals that lead to a more fulfilling life. He specializes in life focus, vision development and goal acceleration.

Leave a Reply

